The RVA Sports Network is your home for high school sports and more in Central Virginia! We are the home for over 50 live high school and college game broadcasts annually, and producers of the "In The Red Zone Podcast"! Follow us on Twitter at @TheRVASportsNet and on Facebook and Instagram at rvasportsnetwork.

Monday, January 11, 2016

HONORS: VHSL Group 5A All-State Football Teams Announced

The RVA is richly represented in the teams announced Monday by the Virginia High School League, led by Highland Springs wide receiver/defensive back Greg Dortch earning State Player of The Year honors and head coach Loren Johnson receiving Coach of The Year honors!

Dortch and teammate K'Von Wallace earned First Team honors in two categories, while Sam Tanner of Lee-Davis was honored twice, with first team defense and second team offense awards. Bold below indicates area player.


Quarterback Daniel Smith Tuscarora, Sr.
Center Mike Green Highland Springs, Jr. 
O. Lineman Andrew Vastardis Stone Bridge, Sr.
O. Lineman Trey Ramsey L.C. Bird, Sr. 
O. Lineman CJ Bynum Highland Springs, Sr. 
O. Lineman Truvell Wilson Henrico Sr.
Running Back Meech Hembry Broad Run, Jr.
Running Back JB Wright L.C. Bird, Sr. 
Running Back DJ Anderson Highland Springs, Sr. 
Receiver Nic Speroni Tuscarora, Sr.
Receiver Greg Dortch Highland Springs, Sr. 
Receiver K'Von Wallace Highland Springs, Sr.
Tight End Mark Birmingham Briar Woods, Sr.
Kicker Ethan Ratke Atlee, Sr.
Kick Returner Greg Dortch Highland Springs, Sr. 
O. All-Purpose Jalen Elliott L.C. Bird, Sr. 


D. Lineman Kevonte Demery Henrico, Sr. 
D. Lineman Sulaiman Kamara Hermitage, Sr. 
D. Lineman Sam Tanner Lee-Davis, Sr. 
Defensive End Dondrea Tillman Potomac Falls, Sr.
Defensive End Aaron Motley Highland Springs, Jr. 
Linebacker Matt Fialdini Stone Bridge, Jr.
Linebacker Rayshard Ashby L.C. Bird, Jr. 
Linebacker Jordan Wall Highland Springs, Jr. 
Linebacker John Kinney Hermitage, Sr. 
Defensive Back Chris Moore Broad Run, Sr.
Defensive Back Jalen Elliott L.C. Bird, Sr. 
Defensive Back K'Von Wallace Highland Springs, Sr. 
Defensive Back Kaelin Snead Hermitage, Sr. 
Punter John Gardiner Matoaca, Sr.
Punt Returner Dazz Newsome Hampton, Jr.
D. All-Purpose Earl Anderson Highland Springs, Sr.

Player of the Year: Greg Dortch Highland Springs, Sr. 
Coach of the Year: Loren Johnson Highland Springs 


Quarterback Juwan Carter Highland Springs, Jr. 
Center Brad Nelson Tuscarora, Sr.
O. Lineman Conlan Beaver Massaponax, Sr.
O. Lineman Tyler White George C. Marshall, Sr.
O. Lineman Zach Wilcox Massaponax, Sr.
O. Lineman Kemmone Henderson Hermitage, Sr. 
Running Back Leon Young Wakefield, Sr.
Running Back Demone Drew Brooke Point, Jr.
Running Back Malik Butts Salem-Va. Beach, Sr.
Receiver Dazz Newsome Hampton, Sr.
Receiver Guy Keith North Stafford, Sr.
Receiver Devon Watford Norview, Sr.
Tight End Sam Tanner Lee-Davis, Sr. 
Kicker Tommy Martin Hickory, Jr.
Kick Returner Naukym Morton North Stafford, Sr.
O. All-Purpose Ahmad Tweety Mountain View, Jr.


D. Lineman Kahwon Davis Massaponax, Jr.
D. Lineman Daniel Renaud Stone Bridge, Sr.
D. Lineman Anthony Tham Wakefield, Sr.
Defensive End James Kennedy Brooke Point, Jr.
Defensive End Tylker Crist Kecoughtan, Sr.
Linebacker Trajan Anderson Massaponax, Jr.
Linebacker Josh Hurlbert George C. Marshall, Sr.
Linebacker Matt Meier Broad Run, Sr.
Linebacker Tavante Beckett Indian River, Sr.
Defensive Back Reggie Collins Brooke Point, Sr.
Defensive Back Trey Watkins Massaponax, Jr.
Defensive Back Javonn Quillen Hampton, Sr.
Defensive Back Marcus Tarrer J.R. Tucker, Sr. 
Punter Jamal Fischer Brooke Point, Sr.
Punt Returner Naukym Morton North Stafford, Sr.
D. All-Purpose Jeremy Sampson Tuscarora, Jr.

No comments:

Post a Comment