The RVA Sports Network is your home for high school sports and more in Central Virginia! We are the home for over 50 live high school and college game broadcasts annually, and producers of the "In The Red Zone Podcast"! Follow us on Twitter at @TheRVASportsNet and on Facebook and Instagram at rvasportsnetwork.

Sunday, February 5, 2023

FOOTBALL: Mark L. Fischer Award Update


Last November, we were thrilled to be able to receive the rights to continue the Mark L. Fischer Award, given to the Metro Richmond area's high school football player of the year as voted on by area coaches.

We attempted to name a Fischer Award winner for the 2022 season, sending out nomination forms. Unfortunately, we were unable to receive many back from coaches, not enough to qualify for the minimum we would consider using in handing out this award.

Therefore, we sadly had to make the decision that the Fischer Award would not be presented for the 2022 season. We tried very hard not to allow this to happen, as it marked the second year for this unfortunate occurrence following a stellar start to the award in both 2019 and the truncated 2020 seasons.

We are thrilled to say, however, that the Mark L. Fischer Award, named after the legendary head coach of Louisa County High School, who passed away after a valiant battle with cancer on February 17, 2019, WILL RETURN beginning with the 2023 high school football season, and it will return stronger and better than ever.

We plan to begin a series of season previews, unveiling a "First Watch" lists of area talent who are returning for their sophomore, junior, and senior seasons. We'll have interviews with top players, with coaches, and we'll highlight the career accomplishments of Coach Fischer all season long.

Nominations will take place from coaches and selected media members from November 1 to November 15. We will announce the winner of the 2023 Mark L. Fischer Award in December at a location to be determined.

We want to personally thank Marc Davis, Sports Director at WTKR-TV in Norfolk, and former longtime Sports Director at WWBT-TV here in Richmond, who created the award, for his immense help in allowing the RVA Sports Network to continue this tradition. The 2023 winner will join:

2019: TreVeyon Henderson, Hopewell
2020: Nigel James, Hermitage

as recipients of the Mark L. Fischer Player of The Year Award.

I personally look forward in heading up this process, and can't wait to get started!

I look forward to the area's coaches giving us their expertise in ensuring the importance of the award.

Thank you everyone!


Rob Witham
COO/New Media--Broadcast, RVA Sports Network

No comments:

Post a Comment